The Role of a Governor

Governors have a very important role and some ways in which they make a real difference include:

  • Representing the views of the membership and the wider community regarding key issues and consulting them on important matters such as service developments and changes
  • Helping to shape the Trust's future plans and the services that it provides
  • Holding the non-executive directors to account for the performance of the board of directors
  • Appointing and, if appropriate, removing the NHS foundation trust's auditor
  • Appointing and, if appropriate, removing the Trust Chair and/or Non-Executive Directors
  • Deciding the pay and allowances, and the other terms and conditions of office, of the Chair and the Non-Executive Directors - through the Remuneration and Nominations Committee
  • Approving (or not approving) the appointment of the Chief Executive
  • Approving (or not approving) "significant transactions"; and
  • Approving (or not approving) amendments to the Trust's constitution.

Governors are not paid; the position is voluntary. All expenses in connection with attending meetings are paid: such as mileage allowances or public transport costs. Governors receive help, support and training. A Governor Information Pack is available from the Membership Office

The Council of Governors

Every NHS Foundation Trust has a Council of Governors who are there to represent the views and opinions of members.

Governors stand for a maximum term of three years and are either elected by members or appointed from our partner organisations.

Governors work in partnership with the Board of Directors (which is responsible for the day-to-day running of the Trust and its strategic development) and agree what needs to be done to meet the needs of the community.

The Council of Governors links the Board of Directors to the Membership and communities.

Jack Barber Jack Barber
  Patricia Wain

Monica Cru-Hall

Gareth Eccleston Gareth Eccleston




Paul Lythgoe
Maggie Matthews Maggie Matthews
  Kath Robertson
  Tina Gould




Sarah-Marie Bailey

Sarah-Marie Bailey
Fiona Doran Fiona Doran
Nicholas Iles Nicholas Iles




Alan Jasper


Julie Jones





Karl Bailey


  Steve Jones





Cllr Andy Burford, Telford & Wrekin Council
  Cllr Julia Evans, Shropshire County Council
Lilian Owens Lilian Owens, Telford and Wrekin Voluntary Sector


Cllr Ann James


Cllr Ann James, Stoke-On-Trent City Council




Cllr Ann Edgeller, Staffordshire County Council





Robert Morris, Nursing




Rajesh Sulake, Medical




Marvin Shortman, Clinical Services
  Helen Birtwistle, Allied Health Professionals


Karen Nixon


Karen Nixon, Social Care
Nicola Sherwood Nicola Sherwood, Non-Clinical


Governors Contact Details

Phone numbers, fax and email